Funk n Jive

20130405-102322.jpg

I don’t know about you but I go through cycles of tiredness, creativity, and productiveness. I am not a morning person. In fact, I don’t get into the groove of my day until after nap time most days. Which is why I try to go out and about in the mornings. If I want my kids to have fun, productive, learning filled mornings than I have to force myself out of the house bright and early. Otherwise the funk takes over and it’s just easy to let the girls watch their favorite tv shows, play with blocks, pretend and simply hang out at home.

20130405-102928.jpg
Mornings like that are great and necessary every once in a while but when the funk becomes the jive and I’m stuck in a rut it is really hard to find motivation!
In my perfect world my house would be clean…

20130405-103146.jpg
My kids lookin great…

20130405-103359.jpg
And we would spend our mornings learning from nature!

20130405-103503.jpg

But life isn’t perfect and instead my kids are in pjs for lunch,

20130405-103630.jpg and my laundry is waiting to be folded surrounded by a sea of toys and baby blankets.

I’m ok with this.

Because even if I’m in a funk and I haven’t crossed off a single item on my to do list I still get to be at home giggling with my girls, kissing away boo-boo’s, building tall towers and listening to some of the funniest conversations I’ve ever heard.

So why not embrace the funk n jive? I suppose there’s nothing wrong with cycles as long as I have more jive days than funk days… Right?

Leave a Reply

