Really?!

20130731-113522.jpg
Really?! Seriously!?
It would be just my luck!!

I spent months planning and organizing, researching and outlining!

I looked into Charlotte Mason, Classical, Unschooling, Montessori, Waldorf and Thomas Jefferson styles and merged what I though would fit our family. I have been agonizing over what I would teach and how I would teach it.

For what!? For it all to crumble on day 3!! We have done quite a bit of work in two days and all of my chronological research has been for what?!

After a day of sickeness (thank God it was only a 24 hr bug!) we decided, based on an overdue and half finished Harry Potter book, that today would be our library day. We walked in, returned our books and began to look for this weeks selection.

This is one of our favorite libraries, we spend at least one morning a week here and know where everything is located. So my children and I knew just where to go to find our books. And then he saw it…

A graphic novel about a little girl in china! “Mom where’s china, can we learn about china?” Followed by the enthusiastic squeal of a four year old with a dinosaur book in hand.

My husband and I had decided that if the kids wanted to take rabbit trails we would facilitate that. We decided that we would allow some child led learning but I haven’t even gotten into the real subjects yet! Everything so far has just been an introduction!

So three days into our journey and our path is changing! Ana and Jo want to know more about Dinosaurs, Greelpy wants to learn about bugs and china but I want them all to learn about folk tales.

Soooooo, we will throw it all together and do a unit study! It’s a good thing I found a math book about tanagrams!

Leave a Reply

