Quitter

I am a quitter.

 

I am a quitter, and that’s a good thing.

I have been Jonah for far too long. I have run away from that which I know in the depth of my heart to be absolutely right for me.

blueme

I have transformed over the past few years. My desires and ambitions have been strong and I am finally letting them go.

I will not be a working mom anytime soon. I have grieved this realization for too long, holding on to any tiny glimmer of hope that may have presented itself to me along the way. I have quit this before, but for some reason just when I think I have quit for good, I relapse and begin the process of guilt and denial once more. I quit. I quit trying to chase down dreams of something that just isn’t going to work out for me right now. Children eventually grow up and I am a young mother, I still have plenty of time to chase ambitions once my work here is done. I am a quitter.

I am not ready to be a full time novelist. I am not ready to give myself the kinds of time that I need to get an idea out of my head and into my hard drive. Time is precious. I can set apart some time because I need it as a part of my self care regimen, but I recognize now that I have other uses of my time which I value more. I will eventually finish my novels and I will continue to write down the ideas that flow from my mind but I will do so in my own time, not because I want to meet an arbitrary deadline. So, I quit. I quit feeling guilty about how I order my time. I am a quitter.

I am tired of feeling like I need to conform to some imaginary ideal. I don’t fit the mold that I keep trying to fit into. I am creative and artsy but I hate crafting. I like big ideas and in depth conversations, not small talk or superficial relationships. I am deeply empathetic, socially moderate but also religiously conservative. I am an introvert who enjoys social interactions in small quantities. I don’t fit, I never have and I am tired of trying to help people understand me. So, I quit. Yes, my hair is now blue and green and purple and grey and I love it so back off. I am a quitter.

My children are important to me. They are my everything, but the world does not revolve around them and I am still a separate person from them. I need to practice self-care. I will not sacrifice my health or mental well being in an effort to be a self-sacrificing mother. I am not selfish, I am recognizing that I am just as important as them. It does them no good to have a mother who can barely function, or a mother who can’t concentrate because of pain and depression. I suffer from several chronic pain conditions and I require a certain amount of self awareness to keep my whole family moving. Hospitalizations should not be my check engine light. I need to be aware before I break down. So, I quit. I quit trying to convince myself that its selfish to get a day alone or to take a nap when I need it. I am a quitter.

My children desire challenges. They thrive off of new information but they also have some areas where they really struggle. I am done trying to politely explain this to pediatricians and outsiders. Those who have met my children never doubt it. I will continue to focus on what challenges them and I will continue to challenge them to think deeply about the things that they love but I am not worried about whether or not they are “on track” with ridiculous things. The schools standards are not my priority and so I will not explain why my child can tell you fun facts about dark matter and chemical compounds but not name the state capitals. I quit. I will continue to teach them big ideas with little interest regarding your checklists or “what a third grader needs to know”… blah, blah, blah. I am a quitter.

The great thing about philosophies are that they are fluid. Methodologies don’t change but philosophies do. Right now my educational philosophy is in the midst of a metamorphoses. At the core, what I believe is the same, but in practice some philosophies have switched places. I’m beginning to lean a bit more CM than I have in the past and a whole lot less Unschooling. Not because I don’t believe in the message but rather because I’m finding that the structure of CM fits better with my focus challenged offspring and the others enjoy the flow. I’ve been making this transition over the past several months and I admit that I’ve been grieving the loss of our unschooling nature. I thrive in that natural learning environment, but I am not the one who needs to be thriving and coming to terms with that realization has been a slow transition.

As a form of early childhood education, that philosophy has been wonderful for our family but now a new style is fitting better and so I must say goodby to my favorite shoes that just don’t fit and break in a new pair. I hate breaking in new shoes. I am not ready to quit, but I must because I am a quitter. I quit when things just don’t work and I move on, I move forward. This past year has been so full of change and so full of quitting that its almost as if I am growing. Why else would I need so much newness? Or maybe, like Jonah I am just tired of running away and ready to face my calling, even if it is one I swore I would never do.

I quit. I quit trying to be someone I am not meant to be. I quit trying to create the life of my dreams and instead I want to dream of the life that I live. I am proud to be a quitter, how about you?

 

6 comments on “Quitter

  1. Yay you, Tabitha! I can hear you roar! Quitting isn’t really quitting. It’s finding your own values. It sounds like you’ve found them and I wish you the best! Rock on.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Agreed. It isn’t “quitting” if you reevaluate things and come to a new conclusion about goals, approaches, etc. What’s important changes, especially as kids grow, and one has to be big enough to abandon old choices and decisions. My wife and I find ourselves constantly doing this (http://www.scientologyparent.com/setting-achieving-goals-family-admin-scale/) and it has nothing to do with quitting.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tabitha says:

      Absolutely, I use the term “Quitting” here as a jab at the guilty feeling that sometimes accompanies the changes and reevaluations we make as adults, for ourselves and our families. When we are children we are told not to quit, not to give up and to keep on going when things get tough but as a society I don’t believe that we put an emphasis on reevaluation of values or goals. For me at least, when it came to dealing with unforeseen changes to my idea of life long goals, giving up long held ideals felt akin to quitting. In my use of the term, I am owning the reevaluation of self and dismissing the feelings of guilt. I am unusually used to change and find a great deal of comfort in the unknown, yet even I felt that in regards to somethings it wasn’t just a change of heart but rather an owning of the change itself that needed to occur.

      I hope this clarifies my use of terminology.

      Like

  3. My children watch a tv programme about Peter rabbit and one of his mottos in the programme is “a good rabbit never gives up” this never sat right with me so I told my children that sometimes it’s ok to give up (quit) when things aren’t working out, try a different way. A fly buzzing against a window is never going to get through no matter how hard he tries or how much effort he puts in, he had to quit and go through the door instead. Thank you for this post, I am in a period of transition too at the moment, working out which parts of my skin to shed and which to keep, I am glad I am not the only one who has theses struggles.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

